Greetings Flamel fans. So, who’s the other half of the duo JUMEAUX then?

Well that’s a great question.

Hey there you guys! I figured it was time for a post about me and the part I play in the JUMEAUX story.  I’m Antonio, the other half of the music duo, along with the wonderful singer/singwriter LIBBY LAVELLA.  And like Libby, I also call MICHAEL SCOTT (our favorite author!) a friend.

 

How about we kick off with a few fun facts?  Who doesn’t love fun facts?

FUN FACT #1

LIBBY LAVELLA and I are cousins.  But… we never knew each other existed until we were in our 20s.  How did this happen?  Long story short, Libby’s father died young and in tragic circumstances.  Our family didn’t know that he had a child when he passed, so Libby grew up without knowing her biological family on her dad’s side.  But when she came of age, she decided to reach out to our family and she and I personally met for the first time.  It freaked me out how many things we had in common, including uncannily similar tastes in music, and just taste in stuff in general.  Actually, this weird connection is part of what made us choose the name JUMEAUX for the music we write together.  Hint: if you need to google translate the word “jumeaux”, use french oh ok I’ll do it for you, it means “twins”.

FUN FACT #2

Libby was already a talented and accomplished musician before we knew she even existed, and vice-versa.  So imagine her surprise when she discovered that many people in her biological family were also professional musicians!  She’d spent her teens studying the guitar technique of one of the world’s greatest guitarists FRANK GAMBALE, only to discover later in life that he was her uncle.  You couldn’t make this stuff up!

FUN FACT #3

Libby was the one who introduced me to the world of THE SECRETS OF THE IMMORTAL NICHOLAS FLAMEL. Actually it was all part of a series of weird yet cool coincidences, which you could even call destiny if you’re into that kind of thing.  She visited me in Paris years ago, when I was living literally a couple of streets away from the house of Nicholas and Perenelle Flamel.  I took her to see it, as you do when you’re taking a visiting friend around your neighbourhood to see the sights.   Fast-forward a couple of years, I’m in LA visiting Libby and I meet Michael Scott himself.  Of course I did not miss the opportunity to embarrass myself like a blubbering fan telling him how much I adored “The Alchemyst”.  You’d do the same, admit it.

FUN FACT #4

I have very strong and controversial opinions about pandas.  It’s generally best not to get into a conversation about them with me.

There you go, who knew facts could be so fun?

Anyway, I suppose I should also point out that I’m a musician as well.  I mean otherwise what would I be doing here?  I’ve had a career in electronic music and remixing, advertising music, video games and many things in between.  But for the past few years I’ve been most involved in music for cinema.  I’ve worked on the score for a bunch of french feature films that you are pretty unlikely to have heard of (unless you are french).  But I’ve also worked on some films that you might have seen.  I’ve had the great fortune of working with the extraordinary film composer Nathaniel Méchaly on films like TAKEN (the one with Liam Neeson being all badass) and more recently, COLOMBIANA (that other one with Zoe Saldana being all badass).  Actually there’s a lot more to say on all of this -for example we got to record JUMEAUX tracks in Nathaniel’s amazing studio in Paris.  But I’ll save this up for another post.

So, back to JUMEAUX.  Here’s the skinny:  Libby told me that MICHAEL SCOTT was interested in having original music written for his series THE SECRETS OF THE IMMORTAL NICHOLAS FLAMEL.  When I received the first book, I literally read it from cover to cover in one sitting.  Well, there were no actual physical covers because it was a PDF manuscript from the author himself (ah the perks!), but you get the idea.  I was instantly hooked. So much so that I think I’ll write some posts here about my thoughts and feelings on this amazing series.  But I digress…

Libby said, so, let’s write a theme song for Perenelle, yeah?  I was like, yes, let’s.  So we did.  Michael loved the song, called CARRY MY VOICE, so he launched it on his official website.  Many of Michael’s readers liked the song too, because it was downloaded over 120,000 times.  In old-fashioned music sales speak, that’s platinum, right?  Also, people made fan videos on YouTube using the song as a soundtrack, and we got lots of fabulous comments on how the song really painted a richer picture of the character Perenelle.  Michael was like, hey guys this is great.  I love the idea of having music written about my characters and the themes in my books, and all this cross-mixing of ideas and art between fans is really cool.  You should write more songs!  So, here we are.

Libby came over to Paris to record some songs in the studio with me, and we had a blast working together.  We’ll be telling you the story of how SONGS FOR FLAMEL all came together as we go along on this blog.  But there’s also more new music (and new videos) to come, so we hope you’re going to enjoy it!

There you have it.  I’m really excited to be a part of this project.  I think Michael Scott’s idea of creating music inspired by his books is genius, and I’m totally humbled that he invited us to be a part of it!

I’ll be back with more later, but in the meantime take a look around our blog and let us know what you think!

Leave a Reply

